What Is a database?
Definition: a usually large collection of data organized especially for rapid search and retrieval (as by a computer) [from Merriam-Webster OnLine]
Being a member of the Wadleigh Memorial Library gives you access to a number of research databases.
This service is provided by the Wadleigh Memorial Library, the GMILCS consortium, and the New Hampshire State Library.
Note: If you are accessing databases from home or office, you will need your patron barcode located on your library card (enter all numbers with no spaces).
Literature and Reader's Advisory | Newspapers |
Professional Development, Language Learning, and Continuing Education | Science | Students
Auto Repair Reference Center: Database containing automotive repair information on most manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles from 1945 to present. Includes drawings and step-by-step photographs, technical service bulletins and recalls, wiring diagrams, maintenance schedules, and material lists. Also provides a guide to vehicle ownership and maintenance and a labor time guide and estimator for repairs.
Business & Company Resource Center: A useful resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information. Click here for tips on using this database.
Reference USA: Business & Residential : Find detailed information on U.S. and Canadian businesses in the Business database. Search these businesses by industry, location, size, sales and more. The Residential database include phone book listings for 120 million U.S. households and 11 million Canadian residents. U.S. listings also include information from the most recent U.S. census. Provided by Wadleigh Memorial Library.
Business Source Premier: Provides full text for over 1,100 journals covering business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting, and much more. An EBSCO Database available through NH State Library's NHewLINK.
Regional Business News: Provides full text coverage for regional business publications. Incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Updated on a daily basis. An EBSCO Database available through NH State Library's NHewLINK.
America’s Genealogy Bank: Easily search and browse millions of genealogies, obituaries, marriage and birth announcements and more from 1652 to the present. Search using names, date of birth (estimated or exact), date of death (estimated or exact), last known residence, and social security number. Includes historical newspapers, books and documents, along with modern obituaries and the Social Security Death Index. Also, it includes access to full-text issues of the local Farmer's Cabinet from 1802-1879.
Access to this database was purchased through a gift from the Arthur L. Keyes Memorial Trust.
Ancestry Library Online: In Library Access Only. Provides instant access to more than 1 billion names, more than 3,000 databases, primary-source document images and a variety of genealogical research features including 450 million census records from the U.S. Federal Census between the years 1790 and 1930. In addition, AncestryPlus includes immigration, vital, military, court, church and ethnic records; city directories; genealogical societies; Social Security Death Index; Periodical Source Index; family history library; and much more. Search using names or location. Available through Wadleigh Memorial Library. Tutorial available on how to use this database.
HeritageQuest Online: With over 24,000 books, the complete U.S. Federal Census, the Periodical Source Index (PERSI™), Revolutionary War Pension Records, and other collections, HeritageQuest Online provides access to one of the largest collections of genealogy material in the country. Search using name, location, gender, or race. This collection of research materials helps in tracing family history and studying American culture. Available through NH State Library's NHewLINK. Tutorial available on how to use this database.
New England Ancestors: In Library Access Only.Wadleigh has purchased an Institutional Membership to the New England Historic Genealogical Society (NEHGS). Wadleigh patrons may search the secure NEHGS online databases, a complimentary online genealogist David Lambert to aid with research questions, and a list of upcoming genealogy related events in the New England Area. Searches available by name, region, and year. Provided by the Wadleigh Memorial Library.
EBSCO Databases: Find almost any article using the EBSCO search engine. Enter a subject, phrase, or keyword and watch as EBSCO sifts through the following databases to find the perfect source:
Academic Search Premier
MasterFile Premier
Literary Reference Center
Health Source - Consumer Edition
Business Source Premier
Regional Business News
Newspaper Source
Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC)
Professional Development Collection
Funk and Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia
EBSCO Animals
MAS Ultra - School Edition
Middle Search Plus
TOPICsearch
Primary Search
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Use EBSCO Databases to find everything from magazine and newspaper articles to primary sources. Perfect for academic endeavors. Available through NH State Library's NHewLINK. Tutorial available on how to use this database.
Funk and Wagnall’s New World Encyclopedia: Search by topic to find encyclopedia entries on just about anything. Each article contains a table of contents for quick browsing links to related topics to further aid in research endeavors. A fantastic starting point for any project or question. Available through NH State Library's NHewLINK. Tutorial available on how to use this database.
MasterFile Premier: A multidisciplinary database provides full text for general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and thousands of primary source documents, along with a massive image collection of photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily by EBSCO. Available through NH State Library's NHewLINK. Tutorial available on how to use this database.
Health Source: Consumer Edition: Provides information and articles on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Contains full text for nearly 190 journals including Consumer Reports on Health and Men’s Health, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 200 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications. Available through NH State Library's NHewLINK. Tutorial available on how to use this database.
Magill's Medical Guide: A staple in high school, college, medical school and public libraries. Designed for everyday use and written for health care consumers, the Guide is a perfect mix of accessibility and depth, providing general readers with an authoritative reference source that helps bridge the gap between medical encyclopedias for professional and popular self-help guides. It is an up-to-date and easy-to-use online accompaniment of the hardcover five volume set, Magill’s Medical Guide, 4th Revised ed., in our reference department. It includes medical information suitable for student research and use by general readers, including patients and caregivers.
Salem Health: Cancer: Written by physicians, nurses, and professional medical writers, this comprehensive reference publication will be of interest not only to public library patrons but also to premedical students. Coverage includes diseases, conditions, medications, procedures, specialists, social issues, personal coping tips, print and online academic resources, and support resources. It is an up-to-date and easy-to-use online accompaniment of the hardcover four volume set, Salem Health: Cancer, in our reference department.
Literary Reference Center: Designed to assist high school and undergraduate English and Humanities students with homework and research assignments of a literary nature. Searches available by author or title. Help with source citation may also be found through this database. An EBSCO Database available through GMILCS. Tutorial available on how to use this database.
NoveList: A reader's advisory service that provides information and resources on over 100,000 titles, 75,000 full-text reviews, and more than 36,000 subject headings to help locate the best in fiction. Search by author, title, series, or plot to find summaries, reviews, recommended reading levels and even links to related works. An EBSCO Database available through NH State Library's NHewLINK. Tutorial available on how to use this database.
NoveList (K-8): A reader's advisory service that specifically targets children and young adults. It contains materials for all K-8 grade levels and includes picture books, children's "chapter" books and young adult titles. Search by author, title, series, or plot to find summaries, reviews, recommended reading levels and even links to related works. An EBSCO Database available through NH State Library's NHewLINK. Tutorial available on how to use this database.
NHU-PAC: A union catalog that contains the holdings of more than 300 public, school and special libraries in New Hampshire.
Local | Regional
America’s News Magazines: A collection of magazine article archives from over twenty-five publications, ranging from Time to Sports Illustrated to Popular Science to Entertainment Weekly and many more. Search by magazine, date, author, headline, and subject.
NewsBank: Search this database containing newspaper articles from 30+ newspapers, including The Boston Globe, The New York Times, The San Francisco Chronicle, and The Washington Post, or more locally The Concord Monitor, The New Hampshire Union Leader/New Hampshire Sunday News, and The Nashua Telegraph. Search by paper, date, author, headline, and subject or just browse the special reports section. Tutorial available on how to use this database.
Newspaper Source: Coverage of U.S. and international news, business, lifestyle, entertainment, sports, and science and technology from over 1,000 magazines from across the country. An EBSCO Database available through NH State Library's NHewLINK.
The Cabinet: http://www.cabinet.com/
Archives: 1802-1879 (available via NewsBank:America's GenealogyBank)
Concord Monitor: http://www.concordmonitor.com/
Archives: 2002-present (available via NewsBank: Local Newspapers)
Nashua Telegraph: http://www.nashuatelegraph.com/
Archives: 1998-present (available via NewsBank: Local Newspapers)
Union Leader and Sunday New Hampshire News: http://www.unionleader.com/
Archives: 1989-present (available via NewsBank: Local Newspapers)
Boston Globe: http://www.boston.com/bostonglobe/
Archives: Dec. 1979-present (available via NewsBank: Regional and National Newspapers)
New York Times: http://www.nytimes.com/
Archives: 1985-present (available via NewsBank: Regional and National Newspapers)
San Francisco Chronicle: http://www.sfgate.com/
Archives: 1985-present (available via NewsBank: Regional and National Newspapers)
Washington Post: http://www.washingtonpost.com/
Archives: 1977-present (available via NewsBank: Regional and National Newspapers)
Byki
Online:
Short for "Before You Know It," Byki is a rapid language learning system available for over 80 languages, including ESOL. The Byki learning method takes users through a series of simple steps to memorize words and phrases in a new language, including their meanings and proper pronounciation, in the shortest time possible. To use this database, first create a free user account, following the instructions after you click on the "Sign Up Now" button (under the "Log In" button). Provided by the Wadleigh Memorial Library.
Educational Resource Information Center(ERIC): contains citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals, as well as full text of more than 2,200 digests. Perfect for any student entering into the Education field of study, or educator. An EBSCO Database available through NH State Library's NHewLINK.
Learning Express Library: Practice standardized tests, tutorial courses, and resume and cover letter composition. Comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help you succeed on academic or licensing tests such as the SAT, GED, GRE. Commercial Driver’s License Exam, U.S. Citizenship, and so much more. You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results. In order to use Learning Express Library, you need to create a user account. You must use your Wadleigh Memorial Library library card number as your Username. Provided by the Wadleigh Memorial Library.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA): indexes more than 600 journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s. Great for the Library and Information professional and student alike. An EBSCO Database available through NH State Library's NHewLINK.
Professional Development Collection: Provides a highly specialized collection of over 515 full text journals, designed for professional educators. The majority of full text titles included in the database are available in PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in the Professional Development Collection dates as far back as 1965. An EBSCO Database available through NH State Library's NHewLINK.
Science Online: Presents a broad range of scientific through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments. Information is accessible for someone at the beginner level through the expert and many experiments provide a recommended school grade range.
High School | Middle School | Elementary School
Academic Search Premier: Your source for full text files and abstracts found in Primary Source Documents, books, magazines, and newspapers. Perfect for any high school report or research project. Search by subject, title, author, and much more. Available through NH State Library's NHewLINK. Tutorial available on how to use this database.
American History Online: Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience.
Issues & Controversies: Explores more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture.
Learning Express Library: Practice standardized tests, tutorial courses, and resume and cover letter composition. Comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help you succeed on academic or licensing tests such as the SAT, GED, GRE. Commercial Driver’s License Exam, U.S. Citizenship, and so much more. You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results. In order to use Learning Express Library, you need to create a user account. You must use your Wadleigh Memorial Library library card number as your Username. Provided by the Wadleigh Memorial Library.
Literary Reference Center: Designed to assist high school and undergraduate English and Humanities students with homework and research assignments of a literary nature. Searches available by author or title. Help with source citation may also be found through this database. An EBSCO Database available through GMILCS. Tutorial available on how to use this database.
TOPICsearch: Explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms. This current events database includes more than 400,000 full-text articles selected by teachers and librarians, an online dictionary, and more than 2,500 diverse reference sources including newspapers, biographies, opinion polls, book reviews and government information. An EBSCO Database available through NH State Library's NHewLINK.
MAS Ultra: School Edition: Provides full text for over 515 general interest and current events magazines. An EBSCO Database available through NH State Library's NHewLINK.
Middle Search Plus: Provides full text for over 145 magazines covering general topics appropriate for middle and junior high school students. An EBSCO Database available through NH State Library's NHewLINK.
Primary Search: Provides full text for 57 children’s magazines and over 100 children’s pamphlets, designed for the elementary school student. An EBSCO Database available through NH State Library's NHewLINK.
Searchasaurus: A colorful, easy-to-use search interface for elementary and middle school students. It includes the EBSCO Databases Primary Search and Middle Search Plus as well as EBSCO Animals and Funk and Wagnell's New World Encyclopedia. Search results may be sorted by the child’s Lexile range (reading level). Available through NH State Library's NHewLINK. Tutorial available on how to use this database.
Last updated May 17, 2010.